Search Search

Professor Stephen L. Mayo

Bren Professor of Biology and Chemistry, William K. Bowes Jr. Leadership Chair, Division of Biology and Biological Engineering

B.S., Pennsylvania State University, 1983; Ph.D., Caltech, 1987. Senior Research Fellow, 1991-92; Assistant Professor, 1992-98; Associate Professor, 1998-2003; Professor, 2003-07; Bren Professor, 2007-. HHMI Assistant Investigator, 1994-2000; HHMI Associate Investigator, 2000-05; HHMI Investigator, 2005-07; Executive Officer for Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, 2004-07; Vice Provost, 2007-10; Division Chair, 2010-12; Bowes Jr. Leadership Chair, 2012-.

Steve Mayo is the William K. Bowes Jr. Leadership Chair of the Division of Biology and Biological Engineering and Bren Professor of Biology and Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, California. He has been a member of the Caltech faculty since 1992 and served as Vice Provost for Research from 2007 to 2010 before becoming Chair of the Division of Biology and Biological Engineering. Mayo's research focuses on the development of computational approaches to protein engineering -- a field that has broad applications ranging from advanced biofuels to human therapeutics. He co-founded Molecular Simulations Inc. (currently Accelrys), a computational chemistry company, Xencor, a publicly traded bio-therapeutics company, and Protabit, a privately held protein engineering company. He was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences in 2004 for his pioneering contributions in the field of protein design and was appointed by President Obama in March of 2013 to the National Science Board. He received his undergraduate degree in chemistry from the Pennsylvania State University and his Ph.D. in chemistry from Caltech.

Selected Honors and Awards

1988-1989       Miller Research Fellowship, University of California, Berkeley
1993-1998       Rita Allen Foundation Scholar Award
1993-1998       David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship
1994-1997       Searle Scholar Award
1997                Johnson Foundation Prize for Innovative Research in Structural Biology
2004                Elected Member, National Academy of Sciences
2008-2013       National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellowship
2014                Pennsylvania State University Distinguished Alumni Award

Selected Academic Service Activities

2000-2004       NIH Biophysical Chemistry Study Section (BBCB)
2001-2004       NCBI Board of Scientific Counselors
2003-2008       Biophysical Society Minority Affairs Committee
2004-2007       Biophysical Society Council
2006                Harvard Division of Medical Sciences Visiting Committee
2007-2010       California Council on Science and Technology Board Member
2008                Harvard Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology Visiting Committee
2009                MIT Sponsored Research Visiting Committee
2010-2014       American Association for the Advancement of Science Board Member
2012-present   Sloan Foundation, CEMB Research Fellowship Committee
2013-present   NSF National Science Board
2014-present   NIH Center for Scientific Review Advisory Council